Skip to content

Plastics Legislation & How to Make Your Business Model Fit for the Future

The EU passed the Green Deal, and in the US, California is leading the way to a circular economy. All around the world, our way of doing business will change in the next few years in order to limit climate change to a level that is still manageable.

Here we analyze what this means for plastics.

The Basics

UN SDG Logo

The realization that humankind needs to live and work more sustainably has become widespread. The United Nations has put this into its 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

The actions of an overwhelming number of countries globally are guided by these when it comes to development goals and sustainability.

In the EU, the European Commission additionally passed the European Green Deal in 2019. Its aim is not only to make the EU climate-neutral by 2050, but also to transform the European economy into a sustainable circular economy. This will enable the EU to continue to compete and grow in a transforming global economy.

In the context of the Green Deal, there are three major initiatives:

Green Deal Bioplastics
  1.  The Action Plan on Sustainable Finance including the EU taxonomy under EU 2020/852.
  2. The Action Plan on Circular Economy defines targets to reduce CO2 emissions in the economy, to conserve resources and to reduce pollution.
  3. The EU Climate Change Act, meanwhile implemented in the EU states, sets the target to reduce the CO2 footprint by 50% by 2030 and by 100% by 2050 compared to levels in 1990. After that, the EU aims to be climate positive, i.e. to bind CO2 on a net basis.

Under the term "Fit for 55", the EU has adopted a large package of regulations and directives that flesh out and operationalize these goals.

But what does this mean exactly?

Deep Dive

Impact on the Plastics Industry

In our view, there are two categories of impact: First, the transformation to a circular economy with CO2 neutrality. This concerns the products, their materials and business models. Second, the financing of companies and the costs incurring in various areas.

Circular Economy

In the plastics industry, it is the transformation to a circular economy in particular that is having a massive impact. The Action Plan aims to eliminate the use of fossil resources wherever possible. First of all, this means recycling quotas for plastics. Furthermore, it also means the use of renewable raw materials wherever it offers an ecological advantage. And that is now the case in most applications.

Kreislaufwirtschaft

Apart from mere material substitution, new business models will also find their way into areas where leasing and the return of products are not practiced as of today. Nevertheless, this follows the requirement to establish material cycles in order to conserve resources. Repairability and refurbishment are key concepts here.

When it comes to environmental protection, the topic of microplastics is also of note. The EU explicitly wants to avoid microplastic emissions. This particularly affects the tire and textile industries. You can read more on the subject of microplastics here.

Financing

The EU taxonomy (EU 2020/852) also has a major impact on the financial position of companies. Investments in non-sustainable businesses will become unattractive and for institutional investors no longer possible. Credit ratings will be linked to the fulfillment of ESG criteria and even insurance premiums will depend on the sustainability of a company's actions.

In short, those who do not act sustainably will face a cost problem that is greater than the additional costs of sustainable management.

Gute Frage
How is all of this supposed to be reported?

Reporting Obligations

Corporate Reports must already contain sustainability reports. In the coming years, this obligation will also be extended to medium-sized companies. This will soon affect almost all clinics and hospitals, as well. A reporting obligation on sustainability of the company and the achievement of targets will therefore affect almost everyone.

In a Nutshell

Megaphon

In a nutshell, the EU will (fortunately) change the way we do business and place a very strong focus on reducing CO2 emissions and conserving resources. Fossil raw materials will not fare well, while renewable raw materials, if used wisely, will fully meet the requirements of future regulation.

For companies, this means competition for the most sustainable solutions. After all, your customers want to reduce their Scope 3 emissions, as well.

For bioplastics as well as for fossil plastics, the issue of recycling must be considered as the most valuable material cycle.

Schedule a free consultation now to learn how we can make your plastic products regulatory fit for the future.

Questions?

If you are interested in our products and services or have any open questions, feel free to write to us or arrange an appointment.

> Mail us

> Call us

Download: The BIOVOX Compendium BE GREEN.

Learn more with BIOVOX

Ackerfläche

Does bioplastic compete with food?

Biobased plastics are produced from plants. These require land for cultivation. At the same time, a growing world population wants to be supplied with food. Are these land requirements in competition with each other? That's what this article is about!

Read More »
BIOVOX Compounds

What are bioplastics?

What is bioplastic? The term bioplastic, often called bioplastics, is a bit complicated. But: What is a bioplastic? We explain that here in all its facets.

Read More »

Zum Inhalt springen

Kunststoff-Gesetze & die Zukunfts-fähigkeit Ihres Geschäftsmodells

Die EU hat den Green Deal beschlossen, und in den USA geht Kalifornien in Sachen Kreislaufwirtschaft voran. Weltweit wird sich in den nächsten Jahren unsere Art zu wirtschaften verändern, um den Klimawandel auf ein noch handhabbares Maß zu begrenzen.

Was das für Kunststoffe bedeutet, analysieren wir hier.

Die Grundlage / The basics

UN SDG Logo

Weltweit hat sich die Erkenntnis durchgesetzt, dass die Menschheit nachhaltiger wirtschaften und leben muss. Die Vereinten Nationen haben das in ihre 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, auch als Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) bekannt, gefasst.

An diesen orientiert sich global das Handeln einer überwältigen Anzahl an Staaten, wenn es um Entwicklungsziele und Nachhaltigkeit geht.

In der EU hat die EU-Kommission darüber hinaus 2019 den European Green Deal beschlossen. Er soll die EU nicht nur bis zum Jahr 2050 klimaneutral machen, sondern auch die Europäische Wirtschaft zu einer nachhaltigen Kreislaufwirtschaft umbauen. So wird die EU künftig auch in einer veränderten Weltwirtschaft konkurrenzfähig sein und wachsen.

Im Kontext des Green Deal sind drei große Initiativen zu nennen:

Green Deal Bioplastics
  1.  Der Aktionsplan für nachhaltige Finanzierung (Action Plan on Sustainable Finance), der die EU-Taxonomie nach EU 2020/852 einschließt.
  2. Der Aktionsplan für Kreislaufwirtschaft (Action Plan on Circular Economy), der die Ziele zur Reduktion von CO2-Ausstoß in der Wirtschaft, zur Schonung von Ressourcen und zur Verminderung von Umweltverschmutzung definiert.
  3. Das EU-Klimaschutzgesetz, inzwischen auch in den EU-Staaten umgesetzt, das eine Reduktion des CO2-Fußabdrucks um 50% bis 2030 sowie um 100% bis 2050 gegenüber dem Jahr 1990 festlegt. Danach soll die EU sogar Klimapositiv sein, also netto CO2 binden.

Unter dem Namen „Fit for 55“ hat die EU ein großes Paket an Verordnungen und Richtlinien beschlossen, die diese Ziele ausgestalten und operationalisieren.

Aber was heißt das im Detail?

Im Detail / Deep Dive

Auswirkung auf die Kunststoffbranche

Zwei Kategorien an Wirkung gibt es unser Ansicht nach: Erstens die Transformation hin zur Kreislaufwirtschaft mit CO2-Neutralität. Das betrifft Produkte, Materialien und Geschäftsmodelle. Zweitens aber auch die Finanzierung von Unternehmen und die Kosten, die in verschiedenen Bereichen anfallen.

Kreislaufwirtschaft

In der Kunststoffbranche hat insbesondere die Transformation zur Kreislaufwirtschaft massive Auswirkungen. Der Aktionsplan für Kreislaufwirtschaft zielt darauf ab, möglichst keine fossilen Ressourcen mehr zu nutzen. Das bedeutet zunächst einmal Recycling-Quoten für Kunststoffe, aber auch die Nutzung nachwachsender Rohstoffe dort, wo es einen ökologischen Vorteil bietet. Und das ist inzwischen in den meisten Anwendungen der Fall.

Kreislaufwirtschaft

Abseits einer reinen Materialsubstitution werden neue Geschäftsmodelle auch in Bereiche Einzug halten, in denen Leasing und Rücknahme von Produkten heute noch nicht praktiziert werden. Das folgt aus der Forderung, Stoffkreisläufe zur Ressourcenschonung zu etablieren. Reparierbarkeit und Refurbishment sind hier Schlüsselbegriffe.

In Sachen Umweltschutz ist auch das Thema Mikroplastik zu nennen. Die EU möchte explizit Mikroplastikemissionen vermeiden. Besonders trifft das die Reifen- und Textilindustrie, mehr zum Thema Mikroplastik lesen Sie auch hier.

Finanzierung

Die EU-Taxonomie (EU 2020/852) hat große Auswirkungen auf die Finanzlage von Unternehmen. Investitionen in nicht-nachhaltige Geschäfte werden unattraktiv und für institutionelle Investoren schlicht nicht mehr möglich sein. Bonitätsratings werden an die Erfüllung von ESG-Kriterien gekoppelt und selbst Versicherungsprämien werden von der Nachhaltigkeit des Handelns eines Unternehmens abhängen.

Kurz gesagt: Wer nicht nachhaltig agiert, bekommt ein Kostenproblem, das größer ist als die Mehrkosten für nachhaltiges Wirtschaften.

Gute Frage
Wie soll das denn alles berichtet werden?

Berichtspflichten

Konzernlageberichte müssen bereits heute Nachhaltigkeitsberichte enthalten. In den kommenden Jahren wird diese Pflicht auf mittelständische Unternehmen ausgeweitet. Das betrifft in Kürze auch nahezu alle Kliniken und Krankenhäuser. Eine Berichtspflicht über die Nachhaltigkeit im Unternehmen und die Zielerreichung wird also fast jeden treffen.

Kurz gesagt / In a nutshell

Megaphon

Kurz gesagt: Die EU wird unsere Art zu Wirtschaften (zum Glück) umkrempeln und einen starken Fokus auf die Sekung der CO2-Emissionen und die Schonung von Ressourcen legen. Fossile Rohstoffe haben dabei schlechte Karten, während nachwachsende Rohstoffe klug eingesetzt die Anforderungen künftiger Regulatorik voll erfüllen.

Für Unternehmen bedeutet das einen Wettbewerb um die nachhaltigsten Lösungen. Ihre Kunden wollen schließlich auch ihre Scope-3-Emissionen verringern.

Dabei muss, für Biokunststoffe wie für fossile Kunststoffe, auch das Thema Recycling als höchstwertiger Stoffkreislauf mitgedacht werden.

Vereinbaren Sie jetzt ein unverbindliches Beratungsgespräch, wie wir Ihre Kunststoffprodukte regulatorisch fit für die Zukunft machen.

Fragen?

Wenn Sie an unseren Produkten und Dienstleistungen interessiert sind oder offene Fragen haben, schreiben Sie uns an oder vereinbaren Sie einen Termin.

> Email an uns

> Anrufen

Zum Download: Das BIOVOX-Kompendium BE GREEN.

Mehr BIOVOX Wissen / Learn more with BIOVOX

BIOVOX Compounds

Was ist Biokunststoff?

Was ist Biokunststoff? Der Begriff Biokunststoff, oft auch Bioplastik genannt, ist ein wenig kompliziert. Aber: Was ist ein Biokunststoff? Das erklären wir hier in allen Facetten.

Read More »