Skip to content

Bioplastics in medical technology – is this reasonable and safe?

BIO? Great! But what about complex applications, such as healthcare? This article challenges whether the use of bioplastics in medical technology is reasonable and safe.

The basics

Biokunststoffe in der Medizintechnik

Plastics are established in medical technology. This is mainly due to the advantages of the material. Plastics have a low density and are therefore inexpensive for transport and storage. In addition, the established industrial manufacturing processes provide a great flexibility in form and application – both for disposable articles such as syringes and catheters as well as for e.g. endoscopes that are reprocessed several times. And thirdly, and this is very important today: prevention of infection. Contaminated products can be separated after their use in hospitals and then rendered harmless. 

One could say that plastics made modern health care possible.

Deep Dive

Today there are almost 8 billion people in the world, who are also getting older. In order to ensure health care , we need a large amount of resources. Most of the plastics used in medical technology are extracted from fossil resources. This is oviously not the best choice since on the one hand these resources are finite and on the other hand the whole process releases a large amount of CO2 . As a way out, there are biobased plastics that are made from renewable raw materials such as corn or sugar cane.

Switching to bioplastics in medical technology saves resources and reduces CO2 emissions.

 27 million tonnes of CO2
caused by plastics in the medical sector in the EU per year? We need change!

Gute Frage

Can bioplastics achieve the same performance as conventional plastics?

Yes, a change from conventional plastics to bioplastics is possible in medical technology whilst achieving the same performance: biocompatibility, adjustability of mechanical properties and sterilisability. Bioplastics can even bring decisive benefits.

By the way – plastics used in medical technology are called „Medical Grade Plastics“. For this, proof must be provided that the plastics have defined properties and that safe, approved raw materials are processed in a safe working environment. Similarly, the Medical Devices Regulation explicitly requires special attention to be paid to the selection of materials. This includes the biological assessment of materials, the risk management of procurement and production, and the guarantee of recipe consistency.

Medical Grade Biokunststoffe in weiß und transparent

The advantages of bioplastics in medical technology at a glance:

>> Plastic is an already established material

>> It offers form & application flexibility

>> The material is suitable for germ prevention measures

>> Bioplastics conserve fossil resources

>> Bioplastics have lower CO2 emissions (up to 70%)

Maria Heckel

Maria Heckel,
Regulation & Quality

“At BIOVOX, we take care of risk control from procurement through production and storage to the delivery of Medical Grade Bioplastics. We pay attention to the toxicological harmlessness during the development process by taking into account the intended purpose and risk class of the future medical device in the selection of materials. This ensures compatibility with other materials, tissues and body fluids. And not only that – the required cleanliness or even sterility are also covered.

Are you still unsure whether bioplastics are safe enough for your application? Please write to me about your requirements and concerns..“

In a Nutshell

Megaphon

Plastic as a material is indispensable in medical technology. To ensure the health of mankind in the future, we depend on the benefits of plastics. At the same time, we are facing a scarcity of resources and a climate crisis. Switching to biobased plastics saves resources and reduces the carbon footprint by up to 70%. And all of that with a constant performance and in compliance with strict safety regulations.

In a nutshell: Bioplastics in medical technology are reasonable as a material, useful for the future and safe for our health care.

Did you know?

 BIOVOX Connect is our network for sustainable medical devices. Interested? Then >> take a look!

More BIOVOX knowledge

BIOVOX Bioplastics

The carbon footprint of bioplastics

The carbon footprint of bioplastics Bioplastics have a bad reputation when it comes to carbon footprint? Wrongly so! The CO2 footprint of bioplastics is already smaller than that of their

Read More »
Ackerfläche

Does Bioplastic Compete with Food?

Biobased plastics are produced from plants. These require land for cultivation. At the same time, a growing world population wants to be supplied with food. Are these land requirements in competition with each other? That's what this article is about!

Read More »
BIOVOX Compounds

What are Bioplastics?

What is bioplastic? The term bioplastic, often called bioplastics, is a bit complicated. But: What is a bioplastic? We explain that here in all its facets.

Read More »

Zum Inhalt springen

Biokunststoffe in der Medizintechnik - ist das sinnvoll und sicher?

BIO? Super! Aber wie sieht das in komplexen Anwendungen, wie der Gesundheitsversorgung aus? Dieser Artikel stellt sich der Frage, ob der Einsatz von Biokunststoff in der Medizintechnik sinnvoll und sicher ist.

Die Grundlage

Biokunststoffe in der Medizintechnik

Kunststoffe haben sich in der Medizintechnik etabliert. Das liegt vor allem an den Vorteilen, die der Werkstoff mit sich bringt. Kunststoffe weisen eine geringe Dichte auf und sind deswegen günstig in Transport und Lagerung. Zudem erreicht man durch die etablierten industriellen Fertigungsverfahren eine große Form- und damit Anwendungsflexibilität – sowohl für Einwegartikel wie Spritzen und Katheter als auch für z.B. für Endoskope, die mehrfach wiederaufbereitet werden. Und drittens, und das ist bis heute sehr wichtig: die Infektionsvermeidung. Kontaminierte und keimbelastete Produkte können nach Gebrauch in Krankenhäusern separiert und dann unschädlich gemacht werden. 

Man könnte sagen, dass durch Kunststoffe die moderne Gesundheitsversorgung überhaupt möglich wurde.

Im Detail

Mittlerweile leben jedoch fast 8 Milliarden Menschen auf dieser Welt, die zusätzlich dazu auch immer älter werden. Um die Gesundheitsversorgung zu gewährleisten, benötigen wir eine große Menge an Ressourcen. Der Großteil der in der Medizintechnik eingesetzten Kunststoffe werden aus fossilen Ressourcen gewonnen. Das ist nicht optimal, denn es handelt sich zum einen um endliche Rohstoffquellen und zum anderen um einen Prozess, bei dem viel CO2 freigesetzt wird. Dem gegenüber stehen biobasierte Kunststoffe, die aus nachwachsenden Ressourcen wie etwa aus Mais oder Zuckerrohr hergestellt werden.

Ein Umstieg auf Biokunststoffe in der Medizintechnik schont Ressourcen und spart CO2 Emissionen ein.

 27 Mio Tonnen CO2
durch Kunststoff im Medizinsektor in der EU pro Jahr? Das kann so nicht weitergehen!

Gute Frage

Aber können Biokunststoffe denn dasselbe wie konventionelle Kunststoffe?

Ja, ein Umstieg von konventionellen Kunststoffen auf Biokunststoffe ist in der Medizintechnik bei gleichbleibender Leistung möglich: Biokompatibilität, Einstellbarkeit der mechanischen Eigenschaften und Sterilisierbarkeit. Biokunststoff können sogar entscheidende Vorteile mit sich bringen.

Übrigens – bei Kunststoffen, die in der Medizintechnik eingesetzt werden, spricht man von „Medical Grade Kunststoffen“. Wer diesen Titel tragen will, muss zeigen, dass die Kunststoffe definierte Eigenschaften aufweisen und sichere, zugelassene Rohstoffe in einer sicheren Arbeitsumgebungen verarbeitet werden. Ebenso verlangt die Verordnung über Medizinprodukte ausdrücklich, dass ein besonderes Augenmerk auf die Auswahl der Werkstoffe zu legen ist. Darunter fallen die biologische Beurteilung der Werkstoffe, das Risikomanagement von Beschaffung und Produktion und die Garantie der Rezepturkonstanz.

Medical Grade Biokunststoffe in weiß und transparent

Die Vorteile von Biokunststoffen in der Medizintechnik auf einen Blick:

>> Kunststoff ist ein bereits etabliertes Material

>> Es bietet eine Form- & Anwendungsflexibilität

>> Das Material eignet sich für Maßnahmen zur Keimvermeidung

>> Biokunststoff schont fossile Ressourcen

>> Biokunststoff hat einen geringerer  CO2-Ausstoß (bis zu 70%)

Maria Heckel

Maria Heckel,
Regulatorik & Qualität

„Wir bei BIOVOX kümmern uns um die Risikokontrolle von der Beschaffung über die Produktion und Lagerung bis zur Lieferung des Medical Grade Biokunststoffs. Dabei achten wir schon in der Entwicklung auf die toxikologische Unbedenklichkeit, indem wir die Zweckbestimmung und die Risikoklasse des späteren Medizinproduktes bei der Werkstoffauswahl miteinbeziehen. Dadurch ist die Verträglichkeit mit anderen Werkstoffen, Geweben, Körperflüssigkeiten sichergestellt. Und nicht nur das – die erforderliche Sauberkeit oder sogar Sterilität sind damit auch abgedeckt.

Sie sind noch unsicher, ob Biokunststoffe für Ihre Anwendung sicher genug sind? Schreiben Sie mir gerne, welche Anforderungen und Bedenken Sie haben.“

Kurz gesagt

Megaphon

Kunststoff als Werkstoff ist in der Medizintechnik nicht wegzudenken. Um die Gesundheit der Menschheit in Zukunft zu gewährleisten sind wir auf die Vorteile von Kunststoffen angewiesen. Gleichzeitig stehen wir einer Ressourcenknappheit und Klimakrise gegenüber. Ein Wechsel auf biobasierte Kunststoffe schont die Ressourcen und verringert den CO2-Fußabdruck um bis zu 70%. Und das bei gleichbleibender Leistung und unter Einhaltung der strengen Sicherheitsregularien.

Kurzgesagt: Biokunststoffe in der Medizintechnik sind als Werkstoff berechtigt, für die Zukunft sinnvoll und für unsere Gesundheitsversorgung sicher.

Schon gewusst?

 BIOVOX Connect ist das Netzwerk für nachhaltige Medizinprodukte. Interesse? Dann >> jetzt reinschauen!

Mehr BIOVOX Wissen

BIOVOX Compounds

Was ist Biokunststoff?

Was ist Biokunststoff? Der Begriff Biokunststoff, oft auch Bioplastik genannt, ist ein wenig kompliziert. Aber: Was ist ein Biokunststoff? Das erklären wir hier in allen Facetten.

Read More »