Skip to content
Das BIOVOX-Gründerteam

Investing in BIOVOX - Investor Relations

Our young, ambitious team is continuously working on the growth of BIOVOX. To maximize the outcome, we welcome the support of suitable investors.

NEWS - Successful Pre-Seed-Round for BIOVOX

The life science startup BIOVOX raises a mid-six-figure amount in its pre-seed financing round. The angel club better ventures, which specializes in impact investments, invested, and Auxxo, which focuses on female founders, is a co-investor. In addition, investors from the business angel network Frankfurt-Rhein-Main around Nikolaus D. Bayer (German Business Angel of the Year 2020) are involved in the round.

Startup

BIOVOX was founded in 2020 by engineers Julian Lotz (CEO), Vinzenz Nienhaus (CTO) and Carmen Rommel (COO). The team produces bio-plastic systems made from renewable raw materials. Most of the plastics are biodegradable and do not release persistent microplastics. As a result, they save CO2 emissions compared to conventional plastic production.

Co-founder Julian Lotz says: "The use of conventional plastics and their subsequent incineration is a real climate problem. However, the EU Commission itself says that the healthcare sector must not escape climate targets either. We offer a solution for this with low-CO2 bioplastics. Plastic abrasion, for example from packaging made of conventional plastics, also poses a medical risk." Hospitals in particular are responsible for a large proportion of CO2 emissions, says Julian Lotz: "On average, 550 kilograms of waste are generated per hospital bed per year - a quarter of which is plastic waste.  That's about one and a half times the amount of plastic packaging generated in online retail. Overall, plastic in the medical sector causes 27 million tons of CO2 emissions per year in the EU."

"With the fresh capital, we can tackle the expansion of our laboratories and technology. The first products are to go into series production," says co-founder Carmen Rommel. The BIOVOX materials have so far been used in medical packaging and hygiene products, for example. In the long term, a product range is to be developed along all medical classification levels - even including implants that are degradable in the body.

Tina Dreimann, Managing Director of better ventures, is also convinced by BIOVOX: "I was thrilled that the founding team, with their expertise and the products developed from it, is counteracting the insane amounts of plastic waste in the medical industry - and will thus sustainably improve the world. The bioplastics promise to be in high demand due to their uniqueness, for example the antibacterial surfaces. We see BIOVOX as an early mover with the opportunity to become a market leader."

Nikolaus Bayer, awarded Business Angel of the Year in 2020, adds: "We at BA-FRM got involved in the middle of last year with an initial small investment round and have been working intensively with the professional founding team ever since. Due to the initial successes on the market, we were very happy to step up again in this pre-seed round. We are pleased that BIOVOX was able to close the pre-seed round quickly due to the great interest and that the team can now devote itself fully to research, development and marketing again."

About BIOVOX:
BIOVOX was founded in 2020 by Dr. Julian Lotz (CEO), Dr. Vincenz Nienhaus (CTO) and Carmen Rommel (COO). The Darmstadt-based startup develops high-quality composite materials made of bioplastics that are suitable for injection molding, extrusion and 3D printing, and are used in the medical, hygiene and food industries. The startup is opening up new fields of application for bioplastics in areas that have so far relied primarily on low-cost, fossil-based materials. In the long term, BIOVOX aims to become the market leader for sustainable plastics in the life science sector.

About better ventures:
better ventures is an angel club for impact-driven startups initiated by Tina Dreimann. More than 30 successful entrepreneurs have joined forces in the Angel Club to support young founders with capital, network and know-how to improve the world sustainably with their business models.

PROGRESS & MILESTONES

Since having the ideato BIOVOX at the turn of the year 2018/2019, we have achieved a lot and launched even more.

Achievements include two public grants, a successful pre-seed financing round, fully developed and already sold products and ongoing R&D projects with renowned partners.

BIOVOX Linien
Medcial Grade Biokunststoffe

Current needs

BIOVOX is currently well funded. If you would like to contact us for our seed round with closing in Q2 2023, please feel free to get in touch.

Seed Series
Committed 41%
Biokunststoff Filament
Medcial Grade Biokunststoffe

Be Part!

To learn more about BIOVOX, sign up for the investor newsletter or simply choose a 30-minute meeting to get to know us.

Alternatively, you can of course request our pitch deck (public version or complete with NDA):

> Mail us

Zum Inhalt springen
Das BIOVOX-Gründerteam

Investieren in BIOVOX - Investor Relations

Unser junges, ambitioniertes Team arbeitet kontinuierlich am Wachstum von BIOVOX. Dabei freuen wir uns über den Support von passenden Investoren.

NEWS - Erfolgreiche Pre-Seed-Finanzierung für BIOVOX

Das Lifescience-Startup BIOVOX sammelt in seiner Pre-Seed-Finanzierungsrunde einen mittleren sechsstelligen Betrag ein. Investiert hat der auf Impact-Investments spezialisierte Angel-Club better ventures, Co-Investor ist Auxxo mit Fokus auf Gründerinnen. Zudem sind Investoren vom Business-Angel-Netzwerk Frankfurt-Rhein-Main um Nikolaus D. Bayer (Deutscher Business Angel des Jahres 2020) an der Runde beteiligt.

Startup

BIOVOX wurde 2020 von den Ingenieuren Julian Lotz (CEO), Vinzenz Nienhaus (CTO) und Carmen Rommel (COO) gegründet. Das Team produziert Bio-Kunststoff-Systeme, die aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen hergestellt werden. Die meisten der Kunststoffe sind biologisch abbaubar und setzen kein persistentes Mikroplastik frei. Damit sparen sie im Vergleich zur herkömmlichen Kunststoffproduktion CO2-Emissionen ein.

Co-Gründer Julian Lotz sagt: „Der Einsatz von herkömmlichen Kunststoffen und ihre anschließende Verbrennung ist ein echtes Klimaproblem. Die EU-Kommission selbst sagt, dass sich aber auch der Gesundheitssektor nicht den Klimazielen entziehen darf. Dafür bieten wir mit CO2-armen Biokunststoffen eine Lösung. Auch Plastikabrieb z.B. von Verpackungen aus konventionellen Kunststoffen, stellt ein medizinisches Risiko dar.” Besonders Krankenhäuser sind an einem Großteil der CO2-Emissionen beteiligt, sagt Julian Lotz: „Pro Krankenhausbett fallen im Schnitt 550 Kilogramm Müll pro Jahr an – ein Viertel davon ist Kunststoffmüll.  Das ist etwa anderthalb Mal so viel, wie Kunststoffverpackungen im Online-Retail anfallen. Insgesamt verursacht Kunststoff im Medizinsektor in der EU pro Jahr 27 Millionen Tonnen an CO2-Emissionen.”

„Mit dem frischen Kapital können wir den Ausbau unserer Labore und Technik angehen. Zunächst sollen die ersten Produkte in Serie gehen“, freut sich Co-Gründerin Carmen Rommel. Die BIOVOX-Materialien finden bislang Einsatz in beispielsweise Medizinverpackungen und Hygieneprodukten. Langfristig soll eine Produktpalette entlang aller medizinischen Klassifizierungsstufen entstehen – sogar bis hin zu im Körper abbaubaren Implantaten.

Auch Tina Dreimann, Geschäftsführerin von better ventures, ist von BIOVOX überzeugt: „Begeistert hat mich, dass das Gründerteam mit ihrem Fachwissen und den daraus entwickelten Produkten, den wahnsinnige Mengen an Kunststoffmüll in der Medizinbranche entgegenwirkt – und damit nachhaltig die Welt verbessern wird. Die Biokunststoffe versprechen aufgrund ihrer Einzigartigkeit, beispielsweise der antibakteriellen Oberflächen, eine hohe Nachfrage. Wir sehen in BIOVOX einen Early-Mover, der die Chance hat, zum Marktführer aufzusteigen.”

Nikolaus Bayer, 2020 als Business Angel des Jahres ausgezeichnet, fügt hinzu: „Wir vom BA-FRM sind Mitte letzten Jahres mit einer ersten kleinen Investitionsrunde eingestiegen und arbeiten seither intensiv mit dem professionellen Gründerteam zusammen. Aufgrund der ersten Erfolge am Markt haben wir in dieser Pre-Seed-Runde sehr gern noch einmal nachgelegt. Wir freuen uns, dass BIOVOX wegen des großen Interesses die Pre-Seed-Runde schnell abschließen konnte und sich das Team jetzt wieder voll und ganz der Forschung, Entwicklung und Vermarktung widmen kann.“

Über BIOVOX:
BIOVOX wurde 2020 von Dr. Julian Lotz (CEO), Dr. Vincenz Nienhaus (CTO) und Carmen Rommel (COO) gegründet. Das Startup mit Sitz in Darmstadt entwickelt hochwertige Verbundmaterialien aus Biokunststoff, die für den Spritzguss, Extrusion und 3D-Druck geeignet sind, und in der Medizin, Hygiene- und Lebensmittelindustrie Verwendung finden. Das Startup erschließt neue Anwendungsfelder für Biokunststoffe in Bereichen, die bislang vornehmlich auf günstige, fossile Stoffe setzen. Langfristig möchte BIOVOX der Marktführer für nachhaltige Kunststoffe im Lifescience-Bereich werden.

Über better ventures:
better ventures ist ein Angel Club für impact-getriebene Startups, der von Tina Dreimann initiiert wurde. Über 30 erfolgreiche Unternehmer:innen haben sich im Angel Club zusammengeschlossen, um mit Kapital, Netzwerk und Knowhow junge Gründer:innen dabei zu unterstützen, mit ihren Geschäftsmodellen die Welt nachhaltig zu verbessern.

FORTSCHRITT & MEILENSTEINE

Seit der Gründungsidee vom Jahreswechsel 2018/2019 haben wir viel erreicht und noch mehr auf den Weg gebracht.

Das Umfasst zwei öffentliche Förderungen, eine erfolgreiche Pre-Seed-Finanzierungsrunde, fertig entwickelte und bereits verkaufte Produkte und laufende F&E-Projekte.

Element 1@4x

Aktueller Bedarf

BIOVOX ist aktuell gut finanziert. Wenn Sie für unsere Seed-Runde mit Closing in Q2 2023 mit uns Kontakt aufnehmen wollen, melden Sie sich gerne.

Seed-Finanzierungsrunde
Committed 41%
Biokunststoff Filament
triangle4

Be Part!

Um mehr über BIOVOX zu erfahren, registrieren Sie sich für den Investoren-Newsletter oder wählen einfach ein 30-Minuten-Meeting für ein erstes Kennenlernen.

Alternativ können Sie natürlich auch unser Pitchdeck anfordern (Public Version oder vollständig mit NDA):

> Email an uns